The Sally Kalson Journalism Scholarships

From The Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh

The Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh is offering two $2,000 scholarships to undergraduates who plan on careers in print or online journalism as reporters, copy editors, photographers, paginators or graphics designers.

You must submit:

  • A one-page, typed, personal statement outlining applicant’s background and professional goals in journalism
  • Two published, single byline examples of your work, including newspapers, online stories, clippings, photographs, etc.
  • Online work must be provided in a printout of the web page, complete with web address and date of publication
  • Most recent college transcript
  • Letter of recommendation from journalism or graphics arts professor
  • Resume

To apply, you must have completed at least three semesters and have at least one full semester left.

You must be from Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Greene, Washington or Westmoreland counties or attend a college or university in those counties.

Applications must be received by March 6, 2020.

Digital applications may be sent to Matt Moret:

Download the 2020 scholarship application form (right-click “Save as”).

Past scholarship winners

1996 Kathleen Scanlon and Beth Trapani
1997 Alex Lewin and Connie Mabin
1998 Rebecca Riddle and Stephanie Huszar
1999 Susan Seibel
2000 Jonathan Evans and Matthew Monaghan
2001 Elizabeth Bowen and April Johnston
2002 Jasmine Gehris and Alison Kepner
2003 Leslie Hoffman and Erin Pearson
2004 Amy Difiore and Megan Duncan
2005 Lauren L. Hough and Emily E. Leone
2006 Christina Marie Praskovich and Sarah Vaccarelli
2007 Brittany McCandless and Sarah Kaufman
2008 Rebecca Mack and Margaret J. Krauss
2009 Elyssa Goodman and Rossilynne Skena
2010 Jennifer Rizzi and Estelle S. Tran
2011 Dante Fuoco and Faith Cotter
2012 Carrie Blazina and Richelle Szypulski
2013 Jessica Tully and Josh Axelrod
2014 Nicholas Buzzelli and Connor Mulvaney
2015 Kathleen Fennell and Leah Fleischel
2016 Kimberly Baston and Delaney Hassell
2017 Rebeka Devorak and Mattie Winowitch
2018 Amanda Reed, Josh Croup and Nicole Pampena
2019 Kieran McLean and Sabrina Bodon
2020 Julia Maruca and Sarah Donaldson