Sally Kalson Journalism Scholarship


The Sally Kalson

Journalism Scholarship

From The Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh

The Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh Local 38061 is offering two $2,500 scholarships in memory of our late vice president, columnist Sally Kalson, to undergraduates who plan careers in print journalism as reporters, copy editors, photographers, paginators or graphics designers. 


  • One-page, typed, personal statement outlining background and professional goals in journalism.
  • 2 published, single byline examples of your work, including newspapers, online stories, clippings, photographs, paginaton/layout, graphics or artwork.
  • For convenience in judging, online work must be provided in a printout of the web page, complete with web address and date of publication.
  • Most recent college transcript
  • Letter of recommendation from journalism or graphics arts professor
  • Resume

You must have completed at least three semesters and have at least one full semester to complete.

You must be from Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Greene, Washington or Westmoreland counties or attend a college or university in those counties.

Download an application from:

Hurry! Applications must be received by March 4, 2016

Download the scholarship application form (right-click “Save as”).

Past scholarship winners

1996 Kathleen Scanlon and Beth Trapani
1997 Alex Lewin and Connie Mabin
1998 Rebecca Riddle and Stephanie Huszar
1999 Susan Seibel
2000 Jonathan Evans and Matthew Monaghan
2001 Elizabeth Bowen and April Johnston
2002 Jasmine Gehris and Alison Kepner
2003 Leslie Hoffman and Erin Pearson
2004 Amy Difiore and Megan Duncan
2005 Lauren L. Hough and Emily E. Leone
2006 Christina Marie Praskovich and Sarah Vaccarelli
2007 Brittany McCandless and Sarah Kaufman
2008 Rebecca Mack and Margaret J. Krauss
2009 Elyssa Goodman and Rossilynne Skena
2010 Jennifer Rizzi and Estelle S. Tran
2011 Dante Fuoco and Faith Cotter
2012 Carrie Blazina and Richelle Szypulski
2013 Jessica Tully and Josh Axelrod
2014 Nicholas Buzzelli and Connor Mulvaney
2015 — Kathleen Fennell and Leah Fleischel

Toledo Blade kills print edition for almost all holidays




Toledo Blade staffers received this notice on Monday (Oct. 26, 2015):

No printed edition on most holidays

In an effort to encourage more traffic to our online products – and the eBlade – we are making an adjustment in our print-publication schedule.

downloadThere will be no printed version of The Blade on the following holidays: Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, President’s Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, and Labor Day. We will have a print edition on Thanksgiving.
If any holiday falls on a Sunday, there will be a printed newspaper. The change will begin on Dec. 25 of this year.

For the rest of the story, click here.

Welcome to your Guild


Pittsburgh Local 38061 bargains and enforces the contract for newsroom reporters, photographers, copy editors and artists at the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Our newest unit comprises full-time professors at Point Park University, who voted overwhelmingly in June 2004 to join the Pittsburgh Guild, making us the first Guild local to represent faculty at a major university.

Our two-room office suite is on the second floor of the United Steelworkers Building next door to the Post-Gazette in Downtown Pittsburgh. We have a large meeting room that is used monthly for Executive Committee meetings.

Four times a year, we hold general membership meetings in the large conference center on the first floor. We don’t have an office staff, but you can contact us by email, by mail at 60 Blvd. of the Allies, 2nd floor, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 or by leaving us a voice message, 412-880-4001, or fax, 412-880-4002. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter.


Point Park adjunct faculty reach tentative contract


Point Park University and the United Steelworkers Wednesday announced that a tentative agreement for a contract has been reached between the school and its adjunct faculty after nearly 10 months of negotiations.

The contract would afford significant wage hikes and increase job security for more than 300 part-time professors at Point Park if it is ratified, according to both sides.

If approved, the contract would run through Aug. 1, 2019.

Click to see more on the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

Point Park drops legal challenge over faculty unionization effort


Post-Gazette education writer Eleanor Chute updates us on the latest from Point Park University.

More than 11 years after faculty at Point Park University voted to unionize, the university today announced it is dropping its legal challenge over whether they can form a union under the National Labor Relations Act.

After a unionization drive, faculty voted in June 2004 in favor of joining the Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh/Communications Workers of America by a ratio of more than 3-to-1.

Education writer Eleanor Chute: or 412-263-1955.

Click here to read the full story on the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette web site.

The Guild thanks its friends


With the pending departure of Heidi and Brian from the Post-Gazette snack bar, the executive committee authorized giving each of them a $50 gift card in the name of all Guild members. I delivered the gift cards today in greeting cards that thanked them and wished them best of luck from “all your friends in the Newspaper Guild.” They were very touched and appreciative.

We also authorized a gift card for Linda Parker, who unfailingly signs everyone up for the Guild, including interns. The last time I checked, this wasn’t part of her job duties for the company. Additionally, she quickly, efficiently and pleasantly provides any and all information requested by Guild officers so we can perform our duties. Like Heidi and Brian, she was surprised and very touched by the Guild’s gesture.

Heidi_TY Brian_TY

Pittsburgh Guild celebrates transition from 10 years of givebacks with cupcakes!

The Newspaper Guild of Pittsburgh celebrated a milestone on July 1 — the first time in a decade that the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette has provided a new benefit to members.

To celebrate, the executive committee enlisted the services of member and baker extraordinaire Kelly Mills, who made 15 dozen cupcakes with green icing and gold sprinkles that were enjoyed by members, interns and managers alike.


Kelly Mills and her cupcakes!

Negotiated during 18 difficult months of contract talks, the contract ratified in October now requires the Company to  provide a $10 weekly contribution to a member’s 401k if they already contribute $20 a week. That contribution will double next July 1 to $20 a week with a $40 weekly employee contribution. And Guild members will receive a 2 percent raise on March 31.

Those improvements–in addition to a $1,000 signing bonus and salary improvements for two-year associates and the Harrisburg and Washington, D.C., bureaus–represent a major shift in what had been a decade of onerous givebacks to owner Block Communications Inc.

“The $10 contribution that went into effect July 1 may be small literally but figuratively it’s huge when all the givebacks over the last decade are considered,” said Pittsburgh local president Michael A. Fuoco.

“We view this contract as a transition between a company mindset of givebacks and a new appreciation of the need to reward the talent, experience and commitment of our members.”